The California City Management Foundation (CCMF) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2023 Wes McClure Scholarship:

  • Cindy Flaro – California State University, Fullerton
  • Apryl Tovar – California State University, Bakersfield
  • Manuel Munoz – University of Southern California

Wes McClure, for whom our annual scholarship was named, served as city manager of San Leandro for 28 years. He passed away at the age of 94 on December 20, 2009. Wes had many outstanding attributes, including an unparalleled ability to listen. His patience and skill in this regard contributed enormously to his successful career working with city councils and impacted CCMF directly during the formation of the foundation, in which Wes played an integral part.

This award was created in honor of Wes’s outstanding and significant contributions to the city manager’s department, League of California Cities, the state of California and the city management profession.

“We are proud to recognize our three 2023 winners, chosen from an extremely competitive group of highly qualified applicants,” said chair of the CCMF scholarship committee Fran Mancia. “The scholarship committee was thoroughly impressed by the exceptional caliber of all the applicants, their experiences and their strong dedication to public service. CCMF is delighted to contribute to the education of these future leaders in local government, as we continue to support excellence in city management.”